“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app” wrote WhatsApp on its setting and privacy column.
The Facebook-owned company provides three options to the users.
1. You can still accept the updates after May 15th.
2. Before May 15th, you can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account. If you’d like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we hope you reconsider. It is something we cannot reverse as it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups.
3. If you need any help downloading a report of your account or deleting your account, you can contact us here. Separately, our policy related to inactive users will apply.